Welcome to the Home Page

of the House of Assembly of the Virgin Islands


This site contains information about the Legislature, its democracy and people who participate in its processes.  In order for parliament to function effectively people need to know how their system works, who are their elected representatives (Members of the House of Assembly) and what role their representatives play. 

The House of Assembly of the Virgin Islands is comprised of Members who are elected by the people of the British Virgin Islands and therefore play a very important role in the lives of British Virgin Islanders. 

The House of Assembly has a unicameral system (i.e. made up of one chamber) because of its relative smallness compared to larger countries, which operates under a bicameral system consisting of an Upper and Lower Chamber.  Together with the Governor, who represents the Queen, the House of Assembly makes Acts of Parliament, or legislation. 

Additionally, Members of the House of Assembly form the Government of the British Virgin Islands.  The Government is formed by Members of a political party, or coalition of political parties, that has a majority of members in the House of Assembly. 

As this Web Site will be updated constantly we hope that the information contained may be useful and that you may become more familiar with the inner workings of the House of Assembly of the Virgin Islands. 

In these pages you can find out about the role and functions of Council as well as its structure.

There are 15 Members of the House of Assembly: 13 elected by the people of the British Virgin Islands, 9 of which represent the nine electoral districts and 4 are elected Territory wide.  The other two Members of Council are the Speaker and the Attorney General.  The Speaker is elected by the 13 Members of the House of Assembly after a general election or when the office becomes vacant.  The Attorney General by virtue of the Constitution is an ex-officio Member. 

The 1st House of Assembly consists of 11 Members of Government and 2 Members of the Opposition.


The Functions of the House

The main functions of the House of Assembly are:

  1. to pass laws;
  2. to provide, by voting for taxation, the means of carrying on the work of       the government;
  3. to scrutinize government policy and administration, including proposals for expenditure; and
  4. to debate the major issues of the day.

In carrying out these functions the Legislature helps to bring the relevant facts and issues before the electorate.